Harviestoun’s Ola Dubh

Harviestoun's Ola Dubh 12

Harviestoun’s Ola Dubh 12

So its a lazy sunday afternoon, the wife is it work and I’m trying to write despite the cat determined to sit directly on the keyboard…  Went out last night with my good friend Nick to Barvolo in Toronto, had a few flights and one of the best pulled pork sandwiches of my life.  Compiling some notes on some of the beers, but more I sit and think the more I think a beer would be a perfect addition to the day.  (And so, my evening last night becomes a different story all together…)

Going to the fridge, I find a single bottle in the back corner that I bought a week or so ago and promptly forgot was there.  And, well, it’s good.  Can’t let the taste past without writing it down…

This is Harviestoun’s Ola Dubh, a wonderful scottish beer aged for 6 months in oak casks previously used to make Highland Park’s  12 Year Old Single Malt Scotch Whisky.  Stop reading this, stop whatever you’re doing, and go get a bottle or two.

harviestoun-ola-dubh

Pronounced ‘ola-doo’ , which is Gaelic for ‘black oil’

Smoky, coffee, a little bit of peat and a touch of malt.  Very little head, but not flat.  A few nice touches to the bottle itself, a bit of foil and some nice easy design makes the opening of the bottle the start of the whole experience.  That’s right, I said ‘experience’.  This is by far one of my favourite beers.

Check out their website, learn a bit about the history it’s (pronounced ‘ola-doo’, which is Gaelic for ‘black oil’).  The beer has a nice molasses scent, 8% alcohol in the bottle, and yes, despite being called an ale, it’s pretty dark.  They (Harviestoun) recommends some foods parings, but I really enjoyed this on it’s own.  I think I’ve just fallen in love…

Final verdict for me is a straight up 10 of out 10.  If you like a good warm scotch, this just instantly feels like home.

Leave a Reply

