Innocente Charcoal Porter

Innocente Charcoal Porter

Innocente Charcoal Porter

Lots has happened since the summer.  Well, it’s been busy, I’ve been busy, even though when I think back on it there really isn’t that much to say.  Friends’ weddings, other friends havin’ babies, and work goes on.  I did do Cask Days this fall, as usual, but never got around to writing about it.  I made it out to a bunch of good patios, had some good brews, tried again to do some home-brew to a disastrous monstrosity in a bottle.

This is a good beer I had, just tonight, and I wanted to tell you about it.

innocente-5This is from a place called Innocente Brewing Company. They’re in Waterloo, Ontario.  I’ve never heard of them before, but now I’m gonna keep a lookout for more from Innocente.  It’s the beginning of winter here for us, the snows have held off until yesterday.  Today was grey and cold, the snows turning to a sick brown slush before freezing again on the roads.  I’ve taken a week off work to relax, but it’s not a good day to do much of anything except stay inside, play some games, and have a few drinks.

innocente-3Innocente’s Charcoal Porter really hit the spot.

Now, I crave certain beers during certain seasons.  When it’s cold and grey and dismal, a heavy, dark beer is what I want.  This porter was like roasted nuts with a taste of mocha and molasses.  Nice aroma, smelled thicker than it tasted.  The nuts were more burnt than roasted, but the thing is called “Charcoal”.  It fit.  It poured very dark, almost black, with a small head that faded quickly.

Reminded me of Whistler Brewing Company’s Chestnut Ale, though not nearly as sweet.  (Yes, I understand that is an ale, and this is a porter.  I said it reminded me of it.)  Some of the other descriptions I’ve read say this porter has a chocolatey sweetness, but I didn’t really get that.

All in all, I liked this one and I’ll be grabbing a few more of these to enjoy as the winter gets colder.  Easily an 8 out of 10.

innocente-2

Leave a Reply

